Reviews

 

Excellent rooms with a marvelous view (towards the lake). Spent a long weekend at the lodge whilst playing some golf nearby. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Would recommend this place highly even to the pickiest clients

Ingmar H. - Tripadvisor - September 2022

 

Exceeds its 4 stars. We had a fabulous girls weekend break that exceeded our expectations. The standard of the rooms, services, food, drinks, hot tub and spa treatments, couldn’t be faulted. But what really puts this hotel in a different league is the friendly and personable nature of the staff, along with being visibly well trained and professional. In particular, Robbie looking after the hot tubs in the rain, girls in the spa, David in the restaurant and all the staff in the bar. Would highly recommend

ElleM - TripAdvisor - June 2022

 

Fabulous place and surprisingly excellent Guinness. Had two wonderful days away this week, food amazing and service from all staff was excellent. I was unsure to order the Guinness (sometimes hotel pints can disappoint) but really was an excellent pint(s), curiously I asked and learnt about the new cooling system the have added. (Good Job) Breakfast was beautiful both mornings and staff very friendly and never too over friendly which made for a relaxing time. Spa was also class and highly recommend the Swedish massage and my wife really loved the seaweed bath.

John D - TripAdvisor - June 2022

 

Special. That’s the only word to describe our recent stay in Wineport Lodge. My wife and I stayed for two nights midweek and it was our first overnight since Covid reached into our world. We had some apprehension about being out again in the big bad world but as soon as we arrived at the reception desk, our fears were put at ease. We were handed a glass of Prosecco and taken straight to our room. No formalities or even forms to delay the start of our mini-break.

We had dinner in the main restaurant and I could write an entire review on that alone but, again, I’ll just say… special from a food and service perspective.
We had breakfast in our room on both mornings. It arrived on time, was hot and had everything we ordered and more. Hard to beat an early morning breakfast looking out over the lake and taking in the views and the activity.

Last but not least, I have to mention the staff. They are definitely special and they also make you feel special. You feel so welcome it’s almost like a family atmosphere. Yes, special.

MJr56 - TripAdvisor - May 2022

 

We stayed 1 night over Easter weekend at the Wineport and it was FAB!! Norma and the team are so welcoming and the service is just great. Everybody is so friendly and nice and really gives individual attention to guests.

The food was delicious. There is a great wine list too. It is just so relaxing looking out onto the lake and the atmosphere in the hotel adds to the relaxed vibe. Everything was just perfect thank you Wineport!

Pippy03 - Trip Advisor - April 2022

 

Just a quick belated thank you to all the staff at beautiful Wineport Lodge for making a recent surprise 60th birthday Afternoon Tea for a friend such a wonderful stress-free celebration. From the friendly and efficient correspondence prior to the event to the great food and service going the extra mile, to the stunning ambience and location (despite storm conditions on the day), the whole experience was faultless. Thank you on behalf of me (the organiser) and our happy group of 14, and especially the birthday girl Maria!

JoolsA68 - Trip Advisor - March 2022 

 

Wineport Lodge is such an escape, in a beautiful location with outstanding food and very friendly staff, the rooms are large and spacious and we had a balcony on to the lake, it was stunning! The breakfast food was good with an excellent selection!

AngeCMJ - Trip Advisor - February 2022

 

You walk into The Wineport Lodge and you're immediately warmed up by a log fire. it's such a welcoming experience. Brought down to our room so discreetly. Opened the doors to the balcony to experience heaven. The peacefulness of the lake was gently lapping beside us.
Dinner was exceptional. The staff was so courteous and always held eye contact.
Comfy bed and pillows.

Would recommend the Portlock millennium forest walk for an hour. As I said staff are amazing. Brendan was so friendly and accommodating
It's a magical hotel. Fabulous stay Thanks, Wineport Lodge.

Mary M - Trip Advisor - January 2022

 

If I could give Wineport Lodge 10 stars I would... I and my friend stayed for one night midweek and from start to finish our stay was just outstanding. The staff were so welcoming and attentive and we felt so relaxed. Our room had a beautiful view with decking overlooking the lake, a massive comfortable bed with complimentary tea, coffee, water, chocolate & cookies, a spacious bathroom with a power shower and Voya toiletries. We booked the outdoor hot tubs which overlooked the lake followed by a delicious dinner and cocktails in the bar. The Christmas decorations made the whole atmosphere very cosy and there was a wood-burning stove with a roaring fire in the reception area. We had breakfast in our room the following morning which was fresh and tasty. We will be back but for longer next time... I cannot recommend Wineport Lodge enough !!

Angelfromthecoast - Trip Advisor - December 2021

 

Faultless customer service from the moment we entered the hotel and were greeted by Kash with a glass of non-alcoholic prosecco to the very friendly and efficient Carrol on reception to every single member of staff we met. The hotel and surroundings are idyllic and with such a peaceful location, you feel yourself unwinding straight away.
We will return soon.

MYBOA - Trip Advisor - November 2021

 

I and my two friends had a wonderful one-night mini-break - we had a warm greeting from Dan with a glass of bubbly and a quick check-in. The room was very large with views over the lake. We rented a whally boat for the afternoon which was great fun to go and explore the area - special mention to Glen who showed us how to use the boat. We also had a delicious dinner! The staff were excellent and attentive. I will return shortly!

Liz R - Trip Advisor - October 2021

 

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night midweek break at Wineport Lodge.
It was magical from the first moment to the last. The welcome was warm and genuine. The scenery is breathtaking and it is impossible not to feel completely at ease. The staff are polite, professional and it is clear that they enjoy their jobs which is a prerequisite to delivering great service! Special thanks to Jayne who puts her heart and soul into every detail and a big thank you to the fantastic staff in the spa.

Lee T - Trip Advisor - September 2021

 

Two words …. The staff. So lovely.
Tastefully decadent hotel & restaurant in a stunning setting. The most beautiful views and superb food. The staff were welcoming, attentive & very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, & highly recommend you add Wineport Lodge to your must-see list. We will return.

Lorraine B - Trip Advisor - August 2021

 

We arrived at the Wineport Lodge last Saturday afternoon with no booking with our 20-month-old twins in tow en route from Clifden.
The setting is simply spectacular with fabulous seating inside & outside. We were met by the charming Norma whom I presume is one of the management team. It’s fine having a stunning hotel in a fabulous setting but the staff are the icing on the cake and make this a wonderful hotel. Lunch was excellent from a very well thought out menu. I had the Hamburger & my other half had prawns washed down with the most delicious NZ sauvignon blanc & Longueville House cider.
Can't wait to book a couple of nights, very very soon.
If you haven't been to The Wineport, don't delay.

Nearly Posh - Trip Advisor - July 2021

 

Treated like royalty. After a year of lockdowns, I was looking forward to, if not excited about our first night away at the Wineport Lodge. We weren’t disappointed. For the first time, I understand what “being treated like royalty” really means. Norma greeted us with a glass of Prosecco and we were walked to our room at the furthest point of the hotel where it was so quiet and restful. The room was large, immaculate and had great views over the lake with some work going on but not over the weekend.


Lunch was fabulous and the crab and salmon slider is highly recommended. As lunch was a little late I wasn’t very hungry for dinner at 8.30.
Dinner was indoors at a very safe table where the Caprese salad was light and very tasty. I had Baked cod for the main course which was cooked to perfection and was soft and delicious. To finish I has rhubarb crumble with Kilbeggan organic oats and thick yoghurt which was excellent.

A fabulous meal with a few glasses of Macon Lugny was just what I needed.
For breakfast, I had the full Irish which was very tasty with lovely coffee and brown bread which set me up for the day.
While the food was exceptional the service was six stars.

Norma, Jane, Ray and all the team were so welcoming and friendly it made me feel like royalty.

topdog130964 - Trip Advisor - June 2021

 

Beautiful place. Stayed here on the 22nd of December for 1 night. Felt very safe. The staff were so polite and efficient. Views of the lake are simply beautiful. The food was very good in the restaurant. Enjoyed having breakfast in the room. Will return.  

Sinead C- Trip Advisor- December 2020

 

Great stay, felt very safe. Everything was right about this staycation - all the staff wore masks at all times, social distancing in the bar and restaurant. The room was lovely with a view of the lake, food was fantastic. Highly recommended.

Donal B - Trip Advisor - December 2020

 

It was the best place I've stayed in! The setting, the staff, the massage, seaweed bath were all brilliant and just what we both needed. It was during semi lockdown at level 3 but felt safe at all times. Breakfast in the room at no extra cost. It was a perfect birthday. Certainly will return.

Moyna S - Trip Advisor - October 2020

 

Spectacular views and scenery surround the hotel. Lakeshore laps up to your verandah. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant was very nicely presented and the food was excellent. Couldn't fault the whole experience. Roll on next time!

John R - Trip Advisor - December 2019

 

Our weekend away at Wineport had everything you could wish for the location, the facilities, the welcome. The room was fabulous with a great view of the lake and the excellent restaurant and bar made for very enjoyable evenings. We can't recommend it enough.

Lewis - Trip Advisor - November  2019

 

Our family had a great visit here for a special occasion. From the minute we arrived the hospitality was lovely. Our dinner was exceptional - the attention to detail is excellent, the flavours and quality were fantastic. We had a great night and we envy people who have this wonderful restaurant in their locality.

Italy085 - Trip Advisor - November 2019

 

What can I say...this is the first time I have ever returned from a 2x daybreak with hubby leaving relaxed and recharged. We had a suite with a private balcony overlooking the lake, the views were outstanding even for October. Our room had everything you could ask for - morning newspaper delivered every day, fresh milk, choc brownies, cotton buds, bathrobes with slippers. Welcome note, chocolates and card on arrival. Huge bathroom with shower and freestanding bath, heated floor. Walk-in wardrobe. The food was amazing in the restaurant. The staff were very friendly. We used the free Courtney BMW bikes and went for a cycle and used the outdoor hot tubes. I can not recommend this hotel enough and can't wait to return

Suzanne- Trip Advisor - October 2019

 

We were there with a group and arrived on a Friday evening to cosy wood fires and mulled wine. My room was lovely, with views of the lake. A very comfortable bed and the bathroom was spacious and warm. We had dinner in the Restaurant and it was delicious. I shared a seafood platter to start with and had fish for my main course, both lovely. Would certainly return.

Zoe - Trip Advisor - November 2018 

 

Just home from two nights' stay at Wineport Lodge. It was excellent. The staff is very professional, efficient and friendly. Accommodation spotless and very comfortable. Location out of this world. And to crown it all superb food. Would strongly recommend it. I plan to go back to such a unique ambience.

SeanSandra - Trip Advisor - October 2018 

 

We had a lovely experience here, the attention from all the staff is 100% From we walked in they were so welcoming. The Food was amazing & the service perfect. They made our day special & the surroundings are so relaxing.

Paula - Trip Advisor - September 2018

 

We cycled the Old Rail Trail from Mulllingar to Athlone and on to Wineport Lofge. We were met with a very warm welcome. If you are looking for a very comfortable yet informal stay with excellent food and friendly professional people then this is the place for you. As for the lake view. Well!

Gerard - Trip Advisor - August 2018

 

This is our second visit to Wineport Lodge and first away trip with a baby and just like the first time we stayed here the staff were brilliant(especially with getting babies' bottles sterilised)!! The room was beautiful and the food is gorgeous will be back.

Adrian - Trip Advisor - July 2018

 

Visited the Wineport for a mid-week birthday/end of term break. Cannot say enough about the staff - reception, restaurant and house-keeping - friendly, helpful, kind. While the good weather helped, the setting on the edge of Lough Ree is stunning - sun-sets were just magical. Food was tasty and plentiful. The Champagne Suite was beyond description.

Kebris - Trip Advisor - June 2018

 

We haven’t been here for a while work/work, well that all changed this weekend. The greeting from the staff was as if we had been here last week. The ambience was/is so restful. The food superb and the views awesome., this evening it is calm and balmy. It’s a treat your self venue. 

Walstat - Trip Advisor - May 2018

 

Went here recently with a group of friends for a hen party. We had an absolutely fantatstic time, the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The rooms were a good size and had a beutiful balcony overlooking the lake. The dinner was gorgeous, as was the breakfast. And the hot tubs the morning after were the perfect cure, with such a gorgeous view of the lake. The hotel is just heaven and I can't wait to go back again.

Breda - Trip Advisor - April 2018

 

We visited to celebrate Mothers day and received a warm welcome from all the staff at Wineport Lodge. Fabulous views from every aspect of the Lodge. The afternoon tea was excellent and served by friendly and helpful staff. We had a special afternoon and will definitely be back to enjoy a dinner some day at the lodge.

mebo - Trip Advisor - March 2018

 

Such a special, relaxing place.Great food, wonderful atmosphere,and fantastic attention to detail that makes every stay memorable. It's a real treasure.

Denise - Trip Advisor - February 2018

 

We recently stayed for two nights 31/01/2018 and got free upgrade on our room great spa experience and excellent food. Looking forward to our next visit already stunning location with views across the lake.

Gerard - Trip Advisor - January 2018

 

Just on our way home from The Wineport Lodge,after spending a well needed break and even though it was just the one night, for the husbands birthday, it certainly was relaxing and cosy. What a beautiful place especially with all the christmas decorations and log fires at every turn. The hotel is extremely child friendly, board games and books in the lounge and the staff were all fantastic, great with the kids. Siobhan at reception even came and found us when our room was ready but as we were having some lunch she whisked the girls off to show them the room amd they loved being made a fuss of. Food was fabulous, can't fault it at all . It was the little things though,ginger bread men in the room for the girls, birthday wishes and balloons on the table for dinner, which I did not organise!! Just lots of lovely touches that a lot of places don't even bother with. Can't recommend it enough, fantastic for a chilled night away.

Lisa - Trip Advisor - December 2017

 

Love that this place isn't too far from Dublin - a really relaxing two night getaway that ticks all the chilling out boxes - super comfortable bed, friendly staff, delicious food, beautiful views, spacious bedroom & bathroom, big tub, big flat screen tv, complimentary breakfast to your room with papers. We totally relaxed and unwound - perfect place for it. Thanks to all the staff!

Catarina - Trip Advisor - November 2017

 

The location, our room, the restaurant, quiet relaxing bar and above all the staff were fantastic. If you're looking for a couple of days somewhere to unwind, relax and smell the coffee, Wineport Lodge does exactly what is says on the tin!

Polymer - Trip Advisor - October 2017

 

‘This cedar-clad log cabin style lodge jutting out onto the lake shows the midlands at its most alluring,’

Manchan Magan - Irish Times - 2016

 

‘Imagine a secluded wooden hotel built on the edge of a beautiful lake, with windows facing west; balconies on which to drink in the heavenly, endlessly changing views; wood-burning stoves; superb cuisine – and a delightfully relaxed vibe. That’s Wineport!’

Neil Hegarty - The Telegraph - 2016

Scroll Down